My Silent Love

she rustled under my polyester top as I walked in the sunshine to the blue Nova.

The doctor declared today would be her birthday; she was already three weeks late, no signs of starting labor.

I held her tightly to me.

Since the time of her birth, I have never put her down; not truly.

She left me to go to college and get married and have a career and start a family.

When she comes back,

I am waiting.

Her love for her daughters is strong and challenged by the times in which she lives.

I grow older; more tired, less able.  A virus catches me and I am laid up for days and her children rebound in minutes, it seems.

Daughter of mine.

How can I say how I felt then, how I feel now?  How fierce is my love?  Fighting every day for her survival and the well-being of her young, I am lost, there is not enough of me.  My energies are on the wane and I must go on to old age – alone.

Leave a Reply

