I Love Your Impossible Young Self

I am angry with you right now

it is momentary

it will pass

it does mean I need to do things differently.

When you are saying ignorant things; I need to point it out

when it is about me.

I had a full life before you were born.

I had a life the entire time you were growing up of which you were only a peripheral part

and I have had a life since you left me.

Do not judge or I will scratch you.

It is coming I can tell.

There have been too many slights I did not address.

“She does not mean it”; I say.

“She does not understand”; I think

I do not care – I am going to clarify the boundaries between us

and push back.  I know she will look and be startled; maybe, she will think before

words and attitudes start tripping over her tongue in the future.

I love you unabashedly with a depth you may never appreciate

until I leave this planet.

And, enough is enough.  I want my independence back.  I want to be free.  I do not want to answer to you and your thoughts of me; expressed or unexpressed.  I love you

and leave me alone.

Leave a Reply

