I Love You, Dear Daughter: Love Amidst Fear

you are the one

I carried

while I stood

at the edge of a grave

I went a little crazy

you went along for the ride

you did not have a choice

years later, I saw your round face looking at mine;

Mommy, “be spontaneous” you beckoned me

back to life.

you are the one

who screamed to me over thousands of miles

at eight months’ pregnancy

and I heard you and your baby and your daughters

call my name and I came

and I stayed and stayed and today I stay.

You are the world to me.

Without you, there would be no life for me.

Please

be careful with

yourself and your children

if you are not safe

it will be the end of me.

I love your long hair hanging down your back

as I scratch you to help you relax

I loved you from the first day

you stirred within me and I felt the flutter of

your quickening.

I have stood by you

at your wedding

at your daughters’ births

with your family

and you stood by me through my darkest days

and today.

You are the love of my life; I move away from you

because your mate must be number one

to help your rear your brood; I stand aside.  I become older,

less physically able; perhaps, a tad wiser and with more laughter deep

in my tummy as I love touch you and yours.

I will love you

until the day I die.  My love for you will live after me

if you choose

my hope is your focus

will be on your self

and your family.

Leave a Reply

