I Love You, Adopted Son

No matter how long it is between conversations, I know you and you know me.

We were each other’s person when I did not even know what that phrase meant.

Standing together behind the huge recliner, we administered meds, checked tubing and made certain the port was cleared.

Later, we ate ice cream together and we laughed until we cried.

Then, much later, we really cried.  I cried so much I thought I would never stop.  I worked through my tears, I drove through my tears and I talked through my tears.  I cried every day.

Now I get to hold your sons and your wife in my heart too.  How wonderful is that?  I get to see  them grow and play and run.  According to what you said when we talked today, I will shortly be getting to see them fight as this is now the age and stage.

I gave you a little advice.  I just cannot help myself.  I gave you many kudos mostly on purpose; but, also to tell you how special your fatherhood is to me.  How very special your wife is to me and how truly wonderful it is that our relationship has stood the test of time.

It is so good to say “I love you” and know the other person knows and says it too and means it.

Thank you for being “like a son to me.”  I always remember and I will never forget.

 

Leave a Reply

