Maybe I Love You

If love is a commitment to another’s welfare, I love you.

If love is a feeling of despair when we do not connect with communication, I love you.

If love remembers all the good and shrinks the bad, I love you.

If love feels foolish and makes me wonder how someone outside of us would view our behaviors, I love you.

If love makes me doubt and still think of you, I love you.

If love is for a non-family member the same as a family member, I love you.

If I spend time with you instead of being alone, I love you.

If I want to tell you things and share my life with you and visit with you, I love you.

If I miss even the misunderstandings because I remember the cherished moments, I love you.

Love is not always kind and gentle.  Love is tough and brittle and rough as a concrete bottom of a swimming pool green with algae.  Love means remembering those we have loved before, then, I love you.

If love is a connection and I feel emotionally connected even when you dust me off and go play by yourself, I love you.

The poet says love bears all things, believes all things and that love does not fail.  I love you.

Leave a Reply

