Starting Over

I thought she was a goner.  My partner and companion of almost five years could not poop nor pee on her own.  Being a farm girl, I thought the next action would be the last one.  I was determined to take care of my best friend.  Taking care meant stopping the pain.  If the pain ended; so would she.  Our togetherness would be over–forever.  Instead, my faithful spouse took the reins of decision making.  Research on the web led him to believe a hip replacement was possible.  Not for a dog; but, for my best friend.  I agreed. 

Sue has been given a second chance and I have learned, once again, not to underestimate her will to survive.

Leave a Reply

